A memo

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company opines that the reason why there is a low attendance in Super Screen-produced movies in the past year is not due to the low quality of the movies produced but due to the fact that there is a low awareness by the public about the movies produced. Thus the company should increase its next year budget on advertisement. However, this conclusion is weak. Although, superficially, the advertising director was convincing but on further evaluation, the company may risk bankruptcy if they take to such an advise.

The advertising director alluded to the fact that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. However, what we don't know is the number of movie reviewers that this percentage represents. It may be that the percentage increase is due to 20 more people giving a positive review. This will be insignificant in a population that consist of a million movie reviewers. In addition, the advertising director fails to compare the percentage of negative reviews with the percentage of positive reviews. If the percentage of negative review subterfuge that of the positive review, then no matter the amount of increase in the percentage of the positive review, the content of super screen movies is yet to appeal to a larger percentage of the population.

Furthermore, the advertising director also fails to mention if this strategy has worked for another similar company. If a similar company in the country have increased their fortune based on increased adverts, then it may be plausible for Super screen movie production comapny to heed to the advise of the advertising director, otherwise, it should not be considered

Also, evaluating the movie choice of the population is more important than a brazen move to increase budget allocation to advertisement. Are the movie watchers more intyerested in historical movies? Are they interested in watching protean actors no matter how prosaic the script is? Increasing the budget on advertisement when the local population are more interested in sci-fi movies will be suicidal for a movie production company.

Thus in general, the advise of the advertising director need sto be further evaluated before it is considered for implementation by the movie production company.