“Governments should focus more on solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A recommendation has been made to the government that providing solution to problems faced in their nations, their attention should be more on present problems compared to forecasted ones. While some may argue that it is more advantageous to follow this recommendation made for the government. However, I disagree to the recommendation and I would say that paying attention to problems that are expected to come up in the future is more advantageous for three reasons. I concede that while it is more advantageous to look into anticipated problems, pressing present problems should not be neglected.

To begin with, most anticipated problems need to be address as a matter of urgency as they can only be solved when they are yet to reach their peak. In order to prevent them from happening or setup a measure to prepare for it. For example, the problem of water scarcity. It is anticipated that by 2050, if no measure is taken the existing water resource – surface and ground water resources would have reduced both in quantity and quality. Another example of anticipated problem that needs urgent attention is that of global warming. The examples given above are anticipated problems that need to be focused on because they can’t be solved when they are at the peak. Thus, it is more advantageous to focus on anticipated problems than to focus on present ones.

In addition, focusing on anticipated problems of the future would definitely help indirectly in solving most present problems. A good example is when a government is trying to solve the issue of high mortality rate that has been forecasted. In their effort of solving this problem, they will definitely find out the probable cause of the anticipated problem which is a problem faced at the moment. In the example above, the government’s effort in solving an anticipated problem but will end up addressing different problem which are faced at the moment.

On the other hand, it will not be fair to ignore the fact that we live in the present and therefore problems encountered at the moment needs urgent attention. For instance, a the most recent pandemic experienced globally – Covid19. Government of all nations affected by this pandemic needed to focus on the problem, if not, it would continue and thereby have greater damage to their country. Another example is the malnutrition among children experienced today in most African countries. This problem cannot be neglected while focusing on anticipated trivial issues, as the said present problem is more important.

In conclusion, the prompt tends to talk about the kind of problems government should pay more attention to. While, it is good to focus on anticipated problems as these can’t be solved at its peak, problem faced in the present that needs urgent attention should not be overlooked.