Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

To solve problems and promote the well-being of the society if one of the governments’ inevitable duties. Immediate problems are happening now. Without focusing on solving them, they will be escalated and result in great loss. By contrast, anticipated problems have not happened yet, and they may be not going to happen at all due to erroneous evidence. Thus, governments should focus their resources on solving immediate problems.

Immediate problems require urgent solutions to minimize losses. Take SARS for instance, an atypical and highly contagious disease broke out in 2003 and killed 774 people. The virus is highly contagious and fatal without treatment. Resulting from the immediate and efficient response, the virus was well controlled in late June and eliminated by mid-August. If the government had not dealt with it instantly, more people would have died or spread the virus globally threatening many other lives. Therefore, immediate problems, like SARS, need to be focused on solving.

On the other hand, anticipated problems are those happening in the future. Whether they will actually happen or not is determined by many factors. Unfortunately, these factors could be wrongly estimated. Consequently, blindly trying to solve the problems of future may cause a disastrous aftermath. The Iraq war is a good example of this point. In 2003, the president of the United States of that time, G. W. Bush, claimed that his intelligence agency had gather accurate evidence that Iraq possessed weapons of mass destruction and they could fall into the hands of terrorists. Trying to eradicate prospective problem caused by the weapons of Iraq. For the united states only, lasting for seven years, the war has killed thousands of American soldiers and costed over fifty billion dollars. Today, the “exact evidence” advocated by Bush has been proved to be false intelligence. Yet, nothing can make up the heavy loss. Considering the uncertainness of anticipated problems, governments should focus on those that are happening—immediate problems.

Surely, some anticipated problems will likely happen based on plain facts. If human rights are violated, people will show their dissatisfaction. If unemployment rate dramatically rises, social unrest will likely grow. These problems can be safely predicted. So, they should be forestalled by governments to avoid potential loss. However, this does not help with the fact that some anticipated problems are falsely assumed and immediate problems are vital. Therefore, these certainly predicted problems should be focused on solving, so do the immediate problems.

In conclusion, governments should be mindful while predicting the problems of the future. No matter how the anticipated problems are handled, immediate problems demand instant attention and should be focused on solving.