Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that demands exist first, then the existence of leaders follows. Leaders are those who lead and command and fulfill certain purposes, which is the reason for them to be created. On the other hand, one can make himself as the leader and force what he leads accept it. But it seldom happens and usually immoral and illegal. In general, leaders are made because they are in need. I therefore agree with the claim.

leaders are created when there are needs for them. Particular conditions demand different kinds of able people who have certain skills or intelligence. Depending on the field, the demands could mean differently. For example, A company will need someone who could save it from going bankrupt when it keeps going downhill. When Apple continued to recede in 1990s, and it had the demands for someone who could lead them to win the competition in the era of technology. In response to the needs, Steve Jobs returned to Apple as its CEO. The demands for someone who is creative and has foresight created the position for Steve Jobs to take and be the leader. So, leaders are often created by the demands placed on them.

Some leaders are born with power, which seems to contradict with the topic but actually not. They are also put on the position by the demand. One becomes the leader because he qualifies. In this case, the blood makes them qualify for being the leaders. For example, Elizabeth II is the queen of many countries, including the United Kingdom and Canada now. After she retires or dies, her son or eldest grandson, Prince Charles or Prince William respectively, will be the next king. One of them has to be the king because the system needs one, which is the demand. As we can see, one inherit the power as well as the need of them.

It is not always that the demand comes first. Some leaders forced others to accept them as the leaders out of their own interest. For example, Napoleon, the famous French military leader and emperor invaded much of Europe in the early nineteenth century. Those countries conquered by him apparently did not place the demand on him. His being the leader is imposed to his victims. As we can see, not all leaders are created by demand. However, cases like these are usually immoral or illegal, and it rarely happens in modern society. I therefore still believe that normally leaders are created by demands placed on them.

In conclusion, there seem to be many reasons for one to become the leader; yet, there are usually some kind of demands behind it. There are some unusual ways for leaders to be created, but oftentimes they are not acceptable morally or legally. Hence, the claim is reasonable in general.