“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum says that restore the time devoted to weather and local news would attract viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues for the television station is strengthened by several convincing evidence at first glance, but further reflection reveals that these evidences not successfully constitute a logical statement in support of its conclusion.

To begin with, the author asserts that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news, so that increasing their time would attract more audience. Although it makes sense to some extent, it is quite possible that the number of the complaints is equal or even lower than before, which means the larger group of people audience is more satisfied by the new arrange of programs. Moreover, even though the number of complaints grows higher, it would be more convincing that these complaints come from people who watch the TV station, which means the viewer is increasing, since no one complains to a TV station he or she never even watched before. Until the author provides further clue to exclude all these possibilities, it is unfounded to reach the author's conclusion straightly.

The article's reliance on restoring the time to avoid losing revenues is also problematic in to respects. First, there's no evidence that local businesses canceled their contract because of the new program arrangement. It is equllay likely that they realized that late-night news is not a good choice for them, since their customs have a reguar lifestyle, which leads them to put money on prime time show. Admittedly, business people see profit as the most important thing, so that if sales decline, they may consider that they have made wrong decisions. However, the profit of an advertisement comes to show up later usually. And the past year's change could not lead to cancelling of the contracts this year, because a long term analyse is needed. Without ruling out this possibility, the conclusion is not defensible.

Finally, the author’s assumption that going back to the old arrange can attract new viewer and avoid losing advertising revenues is still unwarranted. It is much more possible that the new viewers and businesses who are attracted by the national news may be lost under this situation. Therefore, before we arrive to that conclusion, a more complete understanding of viewers‘ and businesses‘ inclination would be helpful.

In conclusion, the business manager fails to adequately support the conclusion. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide dear evidence about the viewer number now, and the reason of cancelling contract from the businesses. To better evaluate the argument, we need more information about the .