"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prediction that the demand for heating oil will aggrandize and the recommendation of investment in business involved in heating oil is strengthened by several convincing evidence at first glance, but further reflection reveals that these evidences not successfully constitute a logical statement in support of its conclusion.

To begin with, the author asserts that oil is the major fuel for heating in the northeastern United States traditionally. So that the article assumes that they will keep using oil now and in the future. Although it makes sense to some extent, it is quite possible that because of the increasing demand of oil, the oil price goes high; and then the high price leads the residents to change their custom to other accessible fuel, such as coal and gas. Moreover, the letter has mentioned that population growth is upcoming; it would be more convincing if the youngers and the people come from other region bring them the new idea of using other fuel to shrink daily spending. Until the author provides further clue to exclude all these possibilities, it is unfounded to reach the author’s conclusion straightly.

The author’s assumption that this region will continue an extreme low temperature is still unwarranted. First, the author believes that 90 days below-normal temperature is serious cold weather, it is much more possible that the temperature is just one or two degrees below normal temperatures, so the temperature does not make sense. Secondly, the author says that that climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several years. How many years means several years? Three years? Five years? If the intemperate weather cannot keep up for enough time for the market of oil to react, the prediction made by the author is unjustified apparently. Therefore, before predicting the demand of oil to increase, a more complete understanding of the coming temperature and the time of cold weather pattern’s duration would be helpful.

Finally, the article’s reliance on the population growth is also problematic in two respects. First, are these additional residents willing to buy new houses? It is equally likely that they are floating population, so that they can just rent apartments as their new homes. And maybe they will leave northeastern United States in winter, and come back next spring. In China, people works in Beijing all come back to their homeland and stay with their families during the winter, since the Spring Festival in China is period time for families to get together. Secondly, even if they could afford the new houses, another piece of evidence is needed—that is, whether or not the new built houses’ heating fuel is oil. Admittedly, heating oil is an effective and convenient method for houses. However, it is entirely possible that according to the notion of environmental friendly, new houses are designed with gas burning rather than oil burning. Without ruling out this possibility, the conclusion is not defensible.

In conclusion, the letter’s author fails to adequately support the prediction and the recommendation. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide dear evidence that the residents in that region will continue their tradition of using oil, and the weather will keep intemperate for a relatively long time. To better evaluate the argument, we need more information about the population growth.