Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

In this argument, the author concludes that honor codes adopted by Groveton's should be implemented by all colleges and universities to decrease cheating among college students. To bolster the argument, the author points out that cheating cases dramatically dropped in five years in Groveton College. However, unless several questions being answered, it does not hold water.

First, the author mentions that cheating cases reported by students under honor code strategy are relatively lower that the cheating cases reported by teachers under traditional system in which teachers closely monitor students. But did all the cheating cases being seen by other students? It was possible that because students were busy doing their own exam papers and did not see the cheating done by their neighbors. Even the cheating cases had been witnessed all, did all the students report the cheating cases they witnessed in the exam? It is very likely that some students were afraid of reporting because they may have been bit by the suspects. Therefore, to back the assumption, the author should provide more information about whether all the cheating cases were reported.

Second, the statement that all colleges and universities should adopt the honor code system is unwarranted. Are the other colleges and universities similar enough with Groveton College so that the outcome of the honor core system will be as good as the Groveton Collage? Perhaps, in colleges in the field of PE where exams are football match or basketball competition, teachers have to be there all the time to guarantee the safety of students and the fairness of the match. And in universities of acting, cheating is nearly impossible and teachers must be in the test to evaluate the acting skill of individual students. Thus, without additional information of what colleges are like, it is difficult to access the merit of the recommendation.

Third, the author indicates that the adoption of the honor code system can result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students. But is the honor code system the reason of the decline of cheating? If the students in the college are becoming more educated, and regard cheating as bad behavior, they naturally do not cheat no matter the honor code system is implemented or not. Or if the punishment of cheating in the college becomes more harsh, and students may be expelled because of cheating, they will be more unwilling to cheat. In conclusion, in order to better bolster the implication, I would need more detailed information regarding the exists of other reasons of not cheating.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it fails to answer some important questions. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.