38. It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that we define ourselves by our identification with social groups. Admittedly, we find our identity by our social roles, yet we also define ourselves by our interests and our view of the world.

Social role is very important for defining ourselves from which we know the certain group we belong to. Living meaninglessly, we may easily fall into nihilism and wonder why we still manage to live. However, when we find a group in which there are similar people around us, we feel the sense of belonging and regain the passion of living. For example, Chinese define themselves by descendants of dragon, and fight together against other peoples who try to invade their territory or humiliate their tradition or culture. Through fighting with other people, we become zealous and passionate which can overcome the loneliness buried in our hearts.

In addition, we also define ourselves by our hobbies. For instance, people who like watching art films define themselves as cinephiles; people who are fanatic about literature define themselves as literature lovers. For instance, cinephiles feel the sense of belonging after watching a brilliant movie and talking about the brilliance with other cinephiles.

Moreover, our view of the world and way of thinking are also crucial to find our identity. We all have different view toward the world. Some of us are feminist, while others are incels who are like misogynists denying value of women; some of us are supporters of globalization, while others are populists who despising other nations. Take the pro-democracy protest happened in Hong Kong as an example. Most residents of mainland China support Hong Kong police as well as the central government and tweets like “Shame On Hong Kong” were reposted millions of times. On the contrast, foreign top tier news agents like the Guardian and the New York Times criticized those violent behavior made by Hong Kong policemen and backed protesters to pursue freedom and democracy. For Chinese mainlanders, maintaining social stability is more important than guaranteeing individual rights, while for Hong Kongers as well as western citizens, government is established to ensure individual rights like freedom of speech. Therefore, the reason why Hong Kongers define themselves as Hong Kongers rather than Chinese is the different view of the government.

In a nutshell, we define ourselves not only by our social groups we belong to, but also by our own hobbies and our view of the world.