“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of the memorandum of Movies Galore claimed that reducing operating expenses will likely to compensate their low profits and will not hamper their reputation of offering great movies at a little price. However, the argument is based on a plethora of unwarranted assumptions and has raised several unanswered questions. To support their conclusion, the owner has suggested that they will reduce the shop opening time and also reduce their stock of older movies to decrease operating costs. However, the arguments are logically unconvincing and provided little support towards author’s conclusions.

First of all, the argument assumes that closing the shop at similar times in downtown Marston will significantly reduce their operating expenses, which have absolutely no correlation with reducing their expenses. Let’s assume the downtown area is a little rural or countryside area and the people might be not used to watch movies at night, and similarly, the people at other rental stores might be situated in a core township area, where customers enjoy having movies at night time. Closing shops at 6 PM instead of 9 will have a significant risk of losing its valuable set of customers, which, in turn, will be detrimental to the shop’s plan to rejuvenate their revenue.

Again, the author has claimed that eliminating old stock of movies will reduce the operating expenses, therefore, help them restore their profits. This argument raises many sceptical questions and hasn’t answered them properly. For example, what will happen to the set of customers, who only have a taste for old movies? Losing customers isn’t the way to reverse their trend to cut loose and increase profit. The author should have done surveys to ensure that they will not lose any customer if they cut loose of the stock of old movies.

Finally, the author stated that their reputation is based on selling great movies at a much cheaper rate and in order to increase profit, they are proposing ways to reduce operating costs. But, it might be the case that the people of the city might not be offended by increasing the price of the movies. The company might make a survey to see up to which the customers are likely to spend for the movies, and upon consideration and looking into the other rival store’s rate, they might actually increase the rate of movies, which might be a great way to increase revenue.

To sum it up, the author doesn’t want to damage their reputation, which is solely based on selling great movies at a cheap rate, but want to reduce the cost of operating stores by reducing the shop opening time and by losing the old movie's stock. To support their conclusion, the article has made several unwanted assumptions and raised several questions. Finally, to make the argument sound better, the company should address the rate of the movies by doing surveys and comparing rates of other rival stores, also they should perform in-depth survey to address if their decision regarding reducing operating expenses will provide them necessary benefits or not.