“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last

The seemingly reasonable argument here makes a lot of assumptions. If the assumptions do not hold true, the recommendation provided might not have expected results. The argument suggests that the movie stores should close early and reduce its stock in order to reduce expense. The argument assumes that these reduction in expenses will lead to increased profit which otherwise is not possible. As evidence, the argument presents the results obtain by one of the store by taking the similar actions.

First of all, the argument does not investigate why the recent profit went down. Moreover, it assumes reducing the operating cost will lead to increased profit. The profit might have went gone down because they are not holding the recent movies or popular movies. Probably their movie collection is not that amazing. It also possible that demographic of that area has changed recently and people's taste in movie has changed but store is not up to date. The argument first need to investigate why the profit went down and then it is possible to make a compelling recommendation.

The argument presents downtown store as an evidence for the seemingly compelling recommendation. The author argues that the downtown store closes store at 6:00pm instead of 9:00pm and this has reduced their cost significantly. However, the author does not quantify how much the cost has reduced. Not only that, where the argument does mention that cost went down, it does not mention if this attempt lead to increased profit. It is possible that while their cost went down, the profit did not increase because the sells went for closing early. Moreover, while it might be beneficial for downtown to close early, it might not be beneficial for the other stores to close early. It is possible that the high selling time in downtown is before 6pm and there is no significant sell after 6pm in the downtown. However, stores in other places might have high sells after 6pm. If that’s true closing the store early will lead to loss instead of profit.

The author also suggests that the store should reduce its collection by getting rid of the old movies like the downtown store. Here author assumes that the taste in movies of people in downtown is same as taste in movies of people from other places. Depending on demographic, it is possible that the downtown has more young people and they prefer new movies, while stores in other places has have more grown up people and they like old movies. If this is true, getting rid of the old collection will lead to loss instead of profit.

As per the discussion above, the question like why the profit went down? will the profit increase with reducing operating cost? how the sells are in other stores from 6pm to 9pm? and what is statics on the type of the movies that sell in other stores, need to be answered before taking the recommendation provided.