Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Corporations are organization which can be profitable or non-profit. Every single human being has the responsibility to promote wellbeing of the society and the environment in which they live in, so does the corporations, profit or non-profit.

The main constituents of a corporation are the people and for the wellbeing of these people themselves corporation should be concerned about the wellbeing of the societies and environment where these people live in. What makes a society well is where people are healthy, has minimum wage, and low crime rate. A corporation has the responsibility that they provide the society with good minimum wage and health insurance. Because, if the society fails this lead the corporations to fail. A corporation cannot survive or work if the society breaks into chaos. If it is a profitable organization, the customer of that organization are people of the society. Without a good society the organization loses its customer thus failing in the process.

In addition to society, all the organization has the responsibility of keeping the environment clean. I came cross a news article that shows how dumping garbage by big corporation in the ocean is killing a lot of marine life. All the lives on earth are dependent on each other in the food chain. Polluting ocean will not only lead to killing a lot marine life and throwing the balance of life cycle, it will also lead to global climate change/ warming. This intern will affect the life of people who work at the corporation or are customer of the corporation. Hence protecting and ensuring a good life of the employee of the organization, as well as its customers, is important for the organization to keep the environment safe.

While it is important that the corporation should definitely operate within the law, which also falls in maintaining the wellbeing of the society, and earn money as much as possible, this should not be their main goal. As the organization makes more money, this may lead to increased salary and good economy, however if these money comes in cost of environment or wellbeing of the society, then the future of the corporation is at risk Because if the corporation is not concerned with the wellbeing of society, in spite of earning more money it might not provide a good heath care or a good salary. If making money is the main target this will make the organization greedy and leading to its own failure. Because an organization cannot operate in failing society. A failing society will have increased crime rate, less educated people. This way the organization will not only lose its customer but good grounds to make trade on. With less educated people, the quality of employees will drop. All these only lead the organization to failure.

For the reasons explained above, the corporations should not mainly focus on merely earning money and operate within the law. They should focus more on the wellbeing of the scociety society and the environment.