The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Talent is a hard terminology to be defined, especially in the context of a musician. Talent might be judged upon various factors like how unique the content is and how the work is been appreciated by others etc. Some music pieces might become transient, some might be relevant for all time since its creation. Someone might argue that true judgement of a talented musician can only be done posthumously, in order to compare them with other famous musicians of different timescales. However, posthumous interpretations of the music pieces might not be as accurate as the composers would have liked, therefore, that music might have been undervalued and the true talent might have been missed by the audience.

The posthumous judgement of musicians talent might even go wrong. Basically, musical composition is the collage of life experiences of the musician, therefore, their meanings might often be misinterpreted. As an example, famous Bengali artist Manna Dey composed beautiful songs, or as we interpreted because the interpretation mostly is done by the artist while he was alive. We really get to know what those songs actually wanted to explain to the audience. Talents should be judged when they are alive otherwise their hard work might all go in vain if those compositions can't be appreciated properly.

Otherwise, posthumous judgement of talent might be accurate in case of comparing artists from different generations. Although the process is not entirely convincing, as different generation might have different taste in music and can appreciate some songs better than the other. But. for the sake of an argument, if someone wants to judge musicians of different timescales, then their talents might only be judged after they are gone, provided their compositions are explained and appreciated as accurately as possible.

Whatever the era is or however the taste of the generation is, compositions of the musicians should always be respected because those are the work worth their lifetime. However, for the sake of comparison, one might take the concept of posthumous judgement seriously if they want to compare in between several talented workpieces. Although, if someone wants to truly appreciate and apprehend the compositions, they need to appreciate their work while the musicians are still alive. Afterall, the final destination of the music pieces is to be appreciated by the audiences, without proper appreciation, the aim would not be achieved.