Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether corporations need to promote well-being or need to make money as much as possible. In arguably, every corporation starts with the same short-term aim, to generate revenue as much as possible. However, from the perspective of a humanitarian society, everyone needs to contribute towards the process to make the life of common people better. Thus, I generally agree with the decision of corporations to prioritize well-being in the long run, in order to make the people happy, which, in turn, will help them increase their stature inside the society.

To begin with, making money might be a short-term motive for most of the associations when they are at their rudimentary stages. However, if the corporation keeps on thinking about growth in terms of financial stature, they are leaving behind the aesthetic aspect of the human being, is to help each other to grow. Making money is necessary to flourish in a short term, but in terms of long-term sustainability, one can’t just ignore the wellbeing of their surroundings.

Furthermore, creating and investing the excess revenue in the wellbeing of the society not only will skyrocket the deference towards the institution, they will also promote opportunities for branching of the original industry. Let’s illustrate this with the examples of the Ambani group in India. Initially, they had only the business related to oil import and export, but they had the prescience to invest in other branches like telecom industries, schools, universities and many more. By promoting welfare, they have created numerous job opportunities as well as increased their company’s stature in the society.

To sum it up, although making money should be one of the most crucial aspects of an industry, but they should not overlook the prospect of doing something back for the society. For short-term benefits, revenue is absolutely crucial for stability and sustenance of a corporation. But, the governing authorities should also prioritize about increasing or creating recreation, schools, hospitals etc. in their society in order to reach out to the common people.