The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In order to define the term "Leadership", one must consider various possibilities it has to offer. The leader of any organisation should possess superior man-management skills and unreal prowess of judgement. The leaders are responsible for the growth of the company and the betterment of the persons associated with the same organization. To make good leaders out of the youth, the youngsters need to be intimate with the sense of co-operation as well as competition. If "all or nothing" approach is taken to develops the young generation by instilling only cooperation, not the competitive edge, then those leaders will likely to face crisis in future. The topic has taken the dubious "all or nothing" approach, which I beg to differ.

First of all, leadership skills need cooperation as well as competition. "All or nothing" approach to train young leaders will do more harm than good. To be a good leader, the person has to have the competitive edge which drives him to the top among others and also need to possess a sense of cooperation, which will make him willing to listen what others have to offer to the table. To illustrate this with an example, a reputed CEO of a certain company will have the necessary vision and prowess to give a competitive edge from the other companies of more or less same calibre. But, in order to have the company growing in terms of technological advancements or marketing strategies, the CEO will listen to the teams he has in his command, what they are suggesting for the improvement of their company.

Furthermore, any acumen leader will tend to make judicious use of the force he have under his command. If the so called leader is stubborn and full of competititive drive, he will tend to force his decisions final, irrespective of the decisions long lasting credibility. Also, if the leader is too much dependent on the capability and decision making of others, the leadership of the leader will eventually come under questioning.

To sum it all up, Industry and Government leaders need to have superior judgement and man-management skills, which comes both from cooperation as well as competition. If the youth has to be trained to be the next generation leaders, "all or nothing" approach will not be enough to produce quality leaders. The institutions, who are producing leaders, need to make sure that the young minds should have equilibrated sense of co-operation and competition.