The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The author claims in the newspaper editorial that the autonomy of the country depends on how strong the security at the border of the country is. However, the argument fails to mention several key explanations on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support the statement, the journalist claimed that the number of immigrants should be checked in order to prosper in national identity and economic benefits of the country. After carefully scrutinizing, the evidence has provided little or no support towards authors recommendations.

First of all, the argument assumes that every immigrant is a threat in terms of the safety and security of the native. This statement has absolutely no correlation with the claim that the author made. For example, the immigrants might be coming for a job or a facility that is not available in their home country, or the immigrant is coming because the person is the specialist in the discipline he/ she works. Therefore, it can't be blandly assumed that every immigrant poses a threat to the country's security and prosperity.

Again, the argument claims that the autonomy of the country is dependent on the strength of its borders. But the author didn't mention anything to support the statement except his or her view on checking immigration policy. The strength of the boundary doesn't necessarily lie on the number of immigrants they are allowing. The true strength of any country's border depends upon many aspects. As an example, how strong their current defence policy is, how strong their military power is and how diligent their armed forces etc is really important for a country's strength at its border, therefore supporting its autonomy. The support of the argument is not logical and fails to answer several key queries. If the author has answered the questions rather than arguing about immigrant policy, the logic might have a ground to be believed.

Finally, the author cites that the autonomy of the country is dependent on how many immigrants they are allowing from their borders. There might be cases of mishappening in the past by some of the immigrants, but the autonomy is not at all correlated with the number of immigrants they are allowing from their boundaries. Without convincing citation from the past events, the conclusion is far from complete and logical.

To sum it up, the author had made several unwarranted assumptions while claiming the argument on the nation's strength at the borders. The argument has raised several sceptical questions on why immigrants numbers should be checked and how the strength of the nation's border can be defined, which the author left unanswered. Finally, to sound the argument better, the journalist should have mentioned some valid statistics against the current immigration policy to support why the number of the immigrants should be checked etc.