Question authority Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world

Throughout history, challenging affirmed knowledge has more often than not been equal to questioning authority; like in the time of Galileo, his statement of “earth travels around the sun” was almost tantamount to rebelling against the scientific world and caused extreme consternation for the church as authority of that time. That consequently, only whet more minds to reconsider their surroundings.

Blindly perpetuating the existing order is the model generally preferred by the authority figures since it keeps the masses malleable to their every whim and gullible in the face of lies. However, had our forefathers not refuted the norms of their times, we would not have excelled beyond living in caves and leading nomadic lives. A good example of challenging and questioning what is accepted is Aristotle. The Athenian philosopher lived in an era where he observed his fellow citizens dedicating their every effort to please the gods, burning incense as offering and fearing to question the logic behind their action or ponder about their surroundings. He started group discussions held in his garden, the most rudimentary form of school, to galvanize youth into observing nature and world and asking pertinent questions; an endeavor which its effects permeated in the works of intellects in years after that even though Athenian ruling class deemed it as an offense on their authority.

Additionally, established knowledge must also face constant scrutiny. Of course, since the claimer has the burden of proving their statement, they should be well educated and steeped in the respective area. As a matter of fact, the iconoclast in every field such as art, science as well as politics have also been the most devout it. Albert Einstein’s works on quantum physics undermined many of the accepted facts in Newtonian physics. He could only manage to transcend his mastery of physics due to his impeccable adroitness in the field accompanied by a healthy skepticism for the established facts.

It is through challenges and questions that a person, as a small part of the society, can advance beyond banal boundaries of the limitations imposed by establishment. But it’s boldness of such people has culminated in the modernized world we have inherited.