“It is not possible for one person to succeed without another, somewhere, failing.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim made above. In your response, use specific examples and explain how those examples shape your position.

This statement “It is not possible for one person to succeed without another, somewhere, failing” needs to be analysed with two different lenses. It needs to be analysed firstly from the point of view of society and secondly, from the individual’s point of view. Depending on that, the claim’s validity and scope can be tested.

Going back to the beginning-school. In school, people who “topped” their class or got the perfect grade are the ones who are deemed as successful. In order to top a class, there is competition and other students lose out, and therefore, are somewhat failing. The grading system in the UK and the US is based on percentile. This percentile is scaled into a score or a grade. This is true for A levels as well as GPA. This scaling introduces competition, and this inherently means that someone will lose out. Going one step further in the education ladder, in order to be accepted into a college, there is competition for a set number of places. There are two outcomes-either you get in or not. If you do get in, there will be someone losing out to you for that one seat at the college. The same logic can be applied for jobs and promotions as well. This makes it seem like that it is not possible for one person to succeed without another, somewhere, failing.

However, it depends on the definition of success. Is success getting that promotion or that job? Or is success being happy where you are at? If the individual defines success, the picture is very different. For example, in the school setting, if the individual defines success as having learnt something from years of school, rather than what the outcome is, then the individual can succeed, regardless of other people. In this scenario, it is possible for one person to succeed without anther, somewhere, failing.

The world is trying to move to becoming non-competitive. For example, numerous colleges in the UK have abolished the percentile method of assigning degree classifications and have implemented clear cut-off marks for each division. This makes it less competitive as there is not cap on the number of people who can make the top grade and so one can succeed without someone else losing out. However, despite all efforts to move to a more collaborative, non-competitive world, for example with scientific endeavours, at the end of the day, when the data is published, there will be people who helped with the project losing out on getting first authorship or being an author on the paper. It seems to be inherent human nature to be competitive about success, and where there is competition, someone will always “lose out”.

However, this does not hold true in all aspects of life. Take for example being in a relationship. The success of your relationship is independent of someone else’s relationship. This can be applied to almost all other aspects of life, being healthy and staying fit, maintaining good mental health and living a balanced life. All of these are individual pursuits and are non-competitive and is about the journey rather than the final goal and so no one must lose in order for you to succeed.

Overall, the claim is too strong in claiming that is it “not possible” for one person to succeed with someone failing. It should be modified to say, “In some situations, it is not possible for one person to success without another, somewhat, failing” as this is bound by context and situation.