In order to vote in school elections in Lowville, you need only be a citizen, have lived in the district for 30 days, and be over the age of 18. Concerned that the turnout at recent school elections has been quite low, with only about 20 percent of eligible voters coming to the polls, school officials have discussed changing the regulations to require that voters be registered with the board of elections, as they must be for a general or municipal election. They posit that voters who are registered are already committed to the electoral process and thus are more likely to come to the polls for school elections as well.

Examine the logic of this argument by discussing what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

The author argues that changing the eligibility criteria of voting in school elections should result in an increase in voter turnout. However, there is little evidence on which this decision is based on and the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. School officials could employ methods to promote voting turn out rather than to change the eligibility criteria.

Firstly, changing the criteria may or may not have an effect on the number of voters. While it may be true that people registered with the board of elections, may be more committed to voting, it would not necessarily change the absolute number of voters. This is because it may still be the same set of people casting their votes. In effect, this only changes the total number of people eligible to vote rather than having more voters. This restricts voting and makes it less democratic. In addition to this, it is not necessarily true that people who register with the board of elections are committed to voting. It takes hardly any time to register to vote as most things now a days is a click of a button away on the internet. This means that registered voters may still not show up to cast their vote and so the percentage of eligible voters would still be very low. In addition to this, school elections are considered less important, specially when compared to municipal or general elections. While people may be more committed to the electoral process, they may not need to avail of schools or have an interest in voting in school elections and so changing the eligibility criteria does not change the overall voter outcome.

Changing the eligibility criteria changes the target audience for voting. For example, in the UK, in order to be eligible to register with the board of elections, one does not have to be a citizen of the UK, one could also be a citizen of the Commonwealth. Furthermore, if Lowvilles general election criteria includes a broader group of people, the total number of people eligible to vote would in fact increase. But this may result in even more people not showing up to the polling station. For example, international university students in Lowville may be eligible to vote in a municipality or general election but would have no reason to vote for the school elections, despite being eligible to do so. This would result in lower turn outs.

It may be wiser to promote the importance of voting among the already existing group of people eligible to vote as that is the group that is the most directly impacted group of people, instead of broadening the target group or trying to restrict it by weeding out the people uninterested in the voting process.

On the whole, the argument would benefit from examining more statistics and examine other ways to increase voting outcomes, such as promoting the need to vote, rather than changing the voting criteria as that makes voting less restricted and may in fact, reduce the voter turn out.