The state school-board association sent this note to its constituent school-board members.

“It is clear that the proposed 10 percent cuts to state aid affect poor districts more than wealthy districts. If the statewide average cut per student is $500, wealthy districts’ cuts are far below that average, whereas the poorest upstate districts will receive cuts that are nearly twice that average. Since state aid is distributed now in a way that gives more to the poor districts than to the wealthy districts, shouldn’t cuts in state aid be similarly equitable?”

Examine the logic of this argument by discussing what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

The argument being made here is that cuts in state aid should be equitable, since the rich become richer and the poor become poorer. However, this argument is based on a number of logical fallacies and assumptions.

Firstly, the statewide average cut per student is 500dollars. The reason that the wealthy district is less affected than the poorer district could be because they have fewer students and therefore, on the whole, seem to be faring better. While the poorest district has twice the average number of students and so receive cuts that are nearly twice the average. Which means that the argument is flawed and that the distribution of state aid cut is actually equal. In order to make the overall aid cut fairer between the two districts, the state could put in place incentives to redistribute students across the region, encouraging families in the wealthy district to send their children to schools in the poorer districts. This would cause the number of students to be more equal and then the cuts received might be perceived as more fair. Alternatively, the state could implement measures to balance economic disparity, but this would be harder to do, in order to distribute the cuts evenly.

Secondly, the wealthy districts surely pay more in taxes than the poorer districts and therefore are more “entitled” to receiving what they paid for. This means that the cuts are equitable as the wealthy paid to get the education their children are receiving while in the poorer districts this may not be the case. However, this is a generalisation of the entire region and there may be individuals in the poorer district paying taxes and should therefore, be getting the same education as the children in the wealthy district.

On the whole, the statewide cut seems to be fair but the state government could take a number of steps to make it seem more fair.