A recent five-year study of the sleeping habits of a selection of people challenges the belief that receiving at least eight hours of sleep a night is healthy. People in this study who reported sleeping eight or more hours a night had a higher rate of specific health problems than the subjects who slept seven hours a night on average. People who reported sleeping five hours a night had only a minimal increase in health issues compared to those who slept eight hours a night. It is apparent that people should try to sleep seven hours each night; therefore, getting too much sleep is worse for one’s health than getting too little sleep.

Write a response in which you discuss the soundness of the conclusion. Discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to consider how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The premise of this argument challenges the long held belief that one should receive at least eight hours of sleep at night, putting forward a new theory that seven hours of sleep is optimum and it is more pernicious to get more sleep than less sleep. However, the link between the number of hours of sleep and health is a tenuous one and the logic put forward is specious.

Firstly, the argument is based on very little data. A five-year study is not a very long study. Most scientific studies of this sort are at least ten-year studies. In addition to this, how the sample group is selected is not mentioned. Ideally, the study should have randomly selected people, however, this is not mentioned in the passage. We do not have information about the group of people selected. Is the sample group representative of only one section of the population? Or does it include a variety of people? What was the selection criteria? This would affect the results.

Secondly, the passage is fairly vague about “specific health problems”. More information about the types of specific health problems and if it is the same set of problems that cropped up would make the conclusion more reliable. In addition to this, there are a number of factors that are not controlled for. Is it the same group of people who are made to sleep for seven hours and then eight hours and then five hours? Or are there different groups of people involved? If there are different groups of people involved, this would introduce more variability. There seems to be a number of variables that have not been standardised and controlled for, which impugns the conclusion.

Lastly, the link between health and sleep is a tenuous one. For example, some people may be predisposed to certain health issues and so the number of hours of sleep has no connection to their health. Furthermore, how do we know that it is more sleep that led to the health problems rather than the health problem that resulted in the person sleeping longer? There is not clear way to establish this in a cause-result relationship.

On the whole, while it may be true that sleeping for five hours is less deleterious than sleeping for eight hours, the model in this study is too simplistic and general. It extrapolates too much information, making the conclusion and the argument put forward unreliable.