Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interest in studying

This topic has been one of contentious debate among school students, specially ones living abroad, deciding which education system they prefer: the UK, where you study courses only relevant to your field of the US, where you study all sorts of courses? Clearly, both systems work and as graduates from both systems work in a range of successful careers.

Taking courses from a wide range of courses provides students with a rounded education as students would graduate with a wealth of knowledge of different areas in addition to being an expert in their own. It allows individuals to be a “mini-expert” a number of fields. This helps develop good conversationalists and results in people being more aware of what is going on in the world from the sports pages to current affairs. This breath of knowledge would mean, theoretically, one would connect and converse with a large range of people. In today’s world where wars seem to be escalating and there is political tension in numerous places, conversations and understanding is needed to appease and resolve issues.

However, the flip side to a breath of knowledge, might be the lack of depth of knowledge in their own field since they would have been able to spend less time on their subject. While this is questionable, it is the graduate who has taken multiple courses who would be better equipped for life after college. For example, a position as a manager in a big company. One must be able to have grasp over accounting in order to be able to tell if the numbers and the budget is plausible. One must be leadership skills, multitasking skills and communication skills. All of which can be potentially developed from juggling many classes and talking to different sorts of people in each class where the class may be that person’s field or interest, allowing you to learn to communicate with a range of people. Furthermore, in today’s world, where for example, scientific research is becoming more and more interdisciplinary, young scientists and graduates need to be able to think on their toes and be able to make connections between different fields. Taking multiple courses from all sorts of fields, in addition to being a specialist and expert in their interested field, prepares students in such interdisciplinary careers.

In addition to this, universities offer an incredibly wide range of courses which one would probably not have been exposed to at school. This not only gives individuals such an incredible opportunity to learn a wide range of skills, but also levels the playing field during the years one specialise in college. That is, in the first year of college, everyone has come from different schools, different backgrounds and at an educational level, may not have started off on the same foot. But, if everyone studies a plethora of courses and then moves on to specializing in a field, it might reduce the educational disparity that may exist as during specialisation the university would assume that the only previous knowledge you have is from the previous years. This is starkly different from if one took courses related to their field of interest from the very beginning.

On the whole, universities should not allow students to take courses from fields they are only interested in as this would result in poorly prepared individuals as the world is moving more rapidly towards interdisciplinary approaches to solve problems, in addition to the fact that taking multiple courses from different areas, tries to obviate educational disparity to some extent.