“In any group effort, universal consensus is preferable to majority rule.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim made above. Consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those affect your point of view.

Universal consensus is preferable to majority rule. This is a highly idealistic statement but a true one. Universal consensus is a more unifying and inclusive model in group efforts and may result in a more product group.

Universal consensus is better than majority rule for a number of reasons. In group situations, majority rule can often cause the minority to feel left out and not heard. It may lead to hurt feelings and marginalisation, in extreme cases. In addition to this, the majority may feel “superior” and this would increase feelings of competition between the groups of people and the feeling of incompetent on the part of the minority. Additionally, a group should put up a unified front, which can only occur if there is consensus among the group and if everyone is happy with the idea put forward, rather than having a few disgruntled people in the group.

However, this is a very idealistic statement and universal consensus is fairly rare in reality. In reality, the better approach to group effort is to have the majority rule initially, followed by universal consensus on refining the idea. For example, if a new policy is being passed in a company, the board members should vote on the best policy and then open the floor up to discussions. Feedback and constructive criticism should be taken into account from the minority and the policy should be modified until all parties are happy with it, that is, universally agree that it is the best policy to put forward. This is how in a group effort, universal consensus can be achieved.

However, this approach may not work in all group efforts. For example, this is more likely to work in the scientific fields. This is because science is driven by evidence, if there is enough evidence to convince the minority or the majority that the outcome was indeed false, this two round approach any group effort can potentially result in universal consensus. However, in other fields which was more opinion driven rather than fact based, it is more unlikely that universal consensus would be reached and there the best model for any group effort would be majority rule.

Take for example the working of a parliament or the UN. Both work on a majority rule basis. This is because, in such opinionated matters, it is highly unlikely to reach universal consensus and is highly impractical to think one can reach universal consensus. In this context, majority rule is preferable.

On the whole, universal consensus is preferable to majority rule. However, this is not as clear cut as it sounds and in reality is harder to achieve in all spheres of group work and so depending on the context of the group work, the best model that can be applied to the situation needs to be able to change and adapt.