every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws to a certain extent. The reason and the change wanted needs to be accessible to the entire society and should not harm any individual.

Over the course of history, there have many occasions in which individuals of a society have taken the responsibility to disobey unjust laws. For example, the Jim Crow laws of the 1950s in America were inherently racist and disregarded civil and human rights. These laws were unjust and it was the response of the society to such laws that forced the government to change the law to be more inclusive. It was the individuals in the society who protested, resisted and rallied to change the law. Similarly, in the 1970s, the women in the US, fought for equal rights and equal pay as at the time it was legal to discriminate on the basis of sex as it violates basic human rights. This shows that the law itself needs to be a hundred percent tolerant of all the individuals in the society and not intent to cause any individual harm. Here the law actively suppressed and hindered the progress of a group of people and it would be the individual responsibility to stand up for themselves and for others. However, it is important to acknowledge that some individuals may not have the luxury of being able to do that.

However, society is made up of different individuals with different thought, ideas and ideologies. This makes it hard to ‘know’ how to define “just” and “unjust” laws as human thought and belief is subjective. For example, if a law exists that directly contradicts one’s political beliefs then that individual would think it is justified for them to stand up and disobey the law. This would lead to a scenario where individuals start to take the law into their own hands which would lead to anarchy. The definition of “just’ and “unjust” laws in a society would depend on a number of factors such as the individuals who make up the While the lines of “just” and “unjust” laws were blurred during World War II where the regime systematically manipulated individuals into believing Jews were inferior. In such situations an individual’s morality and sense of right and wrong should dictate action, as it did in many heroic individuals who went on to saving millions of lives at the risk of their own by resisting and disobeying the law. This shows that lawmakers who are also human, have biased and subjective ideas about the laws which influence what sorts of laws they pass, this means that the law can never be completely objective.

Individuals do have a responsibility to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws however one needs to evaluate the law objectively, without colouring it with their own politic or ideological biases. They must evaluate the trade off and see is a majority of the society is benefitting from that law and that that law is not actively discriminating, marginalising and excluding selected individuals.