“Art does not exist unless it is shared; it requires both artist and audience.”

Art encompasses a number of forms and media. Art can include the visual arts, including paintings and photographs, auditory arts, such as music recordings, performance arts, including live performances of dance, theatre and music on a platform. The existence of art, or the criteria one can call art “art”, I think depends on the creator and the purpose of executing that piece of “art” in the first place.

In order to analyse the topic that art does not exist unless it is shared, the purpose of creating the art needs to be interrogated. For example, if a theatre group is performing a play to raise awareness of a certain social issue, and that is the primary purpose, then art does not exist unless there is an audience to engage with that message and appreciate the art form with which the message was conveyed through. Similarly, performance arts would be rendered “pointless” if there is no audience to share it with. After all, it is a performance, a show, put on for the enjoyment of the consumers, who is the audience.

However, purpose is context bound. If the purpose of learning the piano was just for a little fun and to relax, art would exist without there being an audience. Similarly, decorating one’s room with one’s own painting does not require a third party to consume the art form. The artist could be both the creator and audience of the piece of work, but that does not mean that art needs to be shared in order to exist.

Furthermore, art is very subjective. How does one define “art”? What makes a few colourful scribbles on a sheet of paper different from a masterpiece of modern art in a museum? What sets the two apart? The old adage, beauty is in the eye of the beholder holds very true here. As along as the creator deems the creation to be a work of art, art exists and does not need to be consumed by an external audience. A more tangible example would be, a struggle artist who has been able to engage with an audience yet but continues to churn out works of “art”, be it recordings of music or paintings after paintings, still calls him or herself an artist and hence art exists, even in the absence of an audience.

On the whole, art can exist independent of the viewers, however, the importance and the role that the audience plays greatly depends upon the purpose of the artwork and the creator’s intention of having produced the piece of art.