Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt urges that one should restrain oneself from both the present and past to make important decisions today. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disagree" with the given concept and therefore obliged to provide necessary views in defense of my position.

To make a decision regarding an important matter, it is lamost essential to speculate the circumstances and past history of that certain matter to get a clear view over all the things related to that matter. Without knowing the past one can not make a decision suitable for the present. Nevertheless, one also can not make proper decision by only giving attention to the past an dneglecting the present as the application might need certain modifications for better upshot. For example - a disease which was epidemic in past history of human civilization might not be as dangerous as it would be now. One of the many reasons for the mildness of the disease could be proper management and providence of certain measures that had been taken by the present people to impede the disease to proliferate again. And they have gathered sufficient knowledge and information of that disease from speculating and investing their energy and intellect in the loopholes that caused the disease to be a pandemic earlier. It can be that from their investigation about where the ancient people gone wrong treating the disease might help the present day scientist to preclude those measures from happening and ultimately becoming successful in appeasing the endemic. In this case the present world is largely benefitted by knowing the past closely and making certain modifications of the past to the present by the scientists. It might have gone in other way if the scientist were not cautious enough in learning the mistakes done in the past by the earlier people and neglecting those mistakes; only to repeat by present people.

Another point of learning the past closely is that - past will not only help us to make better decision regarding a matter by providing necessary information, but also can give us a more close approximation of the events depending upon our potential decisions and paves the way for greater contribution to make. For example - if a person studies past history then he can equipped himself with enough knowledge and statistics about his field. It will help him to cognize more aspects to consider and help him to make better decision, as if devoid of the study might not present him with the various factors to consider and ultimately will lead him to a false conclusion. Moreover, when a person probes past closely he can be provided with many options to consider. From there he could see where his precendents had gone wrong or what are the available sources and options that had not been speculated yet. This close proximation with past history will make him more available to the opportunities to invent something big and thus by helping him to contribute more in his respective field. However, without this close proximation he might have end up with the scant options and evidences avalable in the present and those may not help him cheer enough to continue his works for a great purpose.

Counter viewpoint of thise concept could be that - only knowing the past and not implying the those concepts and knowledge to make connection between the present and the past will not help a person to get to a better decison. The concept is pretty authentic as knowing the past will cover only the half portion of the requirements to get to a conclusion. Without knowing the present, we can not make a connection between these two and conduce a greater result, no matter how much we speculate the statistics. Although, the past and present might not be the same and had changed significantly from their respective times, still there is the fundamentals to follow. By following those fundamentals adn applying certain modifications to the applications will cultivate more suitable result than following the past blindly. For instance - from the earlier example if the scientist did not modify their measurements and steps, keeping a close proximation with the past, it could be the case that the disease migth be an endemic again as the environment and the streghth of human had undergine a great deal of change. None of these could be possible by restraining oneself from the past and present and so proximity to both of these is a must ot harvest better decision.

So, looking at all the points and factors mentioned above - it can be stated that - to get to a better decision proper knwoledge and options to ample factors and viewpoints are necessary, which can only be gained by close proximation to both past and presents, not restraining oneself from any of these.