Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is, well, has been a preferred way of serving for many leaders by letting their followers or peers suger-coated. However, to rise into an effetive leadership - a leader better stuck to his or her moral principles in ways of complementing his or her works. In response to my opinion I would like to be "mostly disagree" with priompt's recommendation to earn the respect of peers rather than following one's moral judgements for following two reasons.

Initially, in open eyes it is always great to be everyone's favourite list for a leader. But to be an effective leader one can should posses high moral values. This is so important because in the reign of one's leadership there may come times when a leader has to stand by his principles to serve the truth rather than earning ephimeral gratitude from his peers. For instance - if a leader punishes a person, who has suffered jealousy and violence from his countrymen for his straightcut and simple manner, without any evidence for his guilt but only to earn applause from his fellow men, then in no case we can call him a great leader. It is because he has already broken the first and fundamental principle of a leader by commiting an criminal action, that is to say - showing proper guidance to the follower.

Another thing is that - normally people choose a leader based on an individual's merit on leading the group who can foresee the future and work accordingly. According to that definition the followers of a leader may not share equal wisedom or judgement on a matter as of a leader. Now if a leader follows his prime men blindly then it might take his as well as downfall for his group. Morever, if we look out for statistics we can easily spot out that leader who have been biased to certain groups had rumenerated by a great loss.

Although it might not always be a contradictory idea that to have a strong moral judgement as well as great respect from peers is an impossible characterstics to have to be an effective leader, however, comparing these two my vote will always go for the prime one.