Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Sometimes, Science and Technology is the key to all the existing problems currently in the world.

The solution for that problem already exists out there, but its our job to find and pursue the solution, for this there are scientific researches and studies always happening. The researches are done by very professional and pundit scientists and researchers, but tasks like this require huge amount of funding either sometimes a private company based firm or sometimes by the government but there is always a sanguine outcome or some information gained by this research.

Taking account of the recent times, the covid 19 virus which is ubiquitous and threatening, taking lots of innocent lives around the world is now mitigated by vaccines which are created for these viruses. Lots of doctors, scientists, researches have put in their best efforts and time to create this vaccine but imagine if the government itself is not providing sufficient funds for this research, even though at the start consequences are unclear but the person sitting behind the research is professional and knows the task and what they are doing is for the betterment of the country, the government should provide funds for research like this which would lead to a fruitful outcome.

The advances in every field are done by some study or research behind that topic, take for an example the medical field, the vaccine for corona virus or the eradicated disease of small pox.

Today, the world is free of small pox just because the work done by the doctors out there who gave their everything, researched meticulously about small pox and finally found a cure. Researches like this if not backed or espoused by the government would go in vain and maybe the world would still be filled with the cases of small pox. The funding of government is of huge help to any small industry who is close to finding a cure but are restrained by just funds, who has no one else to back them and provide money, in such cases government should help to make them one step closer to their goal.

Few years ago, India became the first nation to reach the Martian orbit by sending their man made probe to collect information and unknown findings about the planet Mars. This was a very big thing for the whole astronomy community. Many researches and countless hours were spent on this mission, the funds required for this amount were myriad, ISRO were obviously able to collect most of the funds because being such big organization but Indian government definitely helped in funding the mission, even though consequences of the research were unknown.

In the end, instances and developments like this show that funding any scientific research even though the consequences are unknown to us but has the potential to produce a buoyant result, definitely pays off and after a well perusal of the work there is no harm in helping the organization by funding them.