4. "Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

In a recent survey, it is stated that home owners have grown increasingly eager to conserve energy. The manufacturers at the same time are marketing home appliances such as energy efficient refigerators and air conditioners surpassing the efficeincy rate of then home appliances 10 years ago. In case of home heating, new technologies for better home insulation and solar heating have been rampant thereby reducing the energy needed for home heating. Due to such viccitudes over time in energy conservation, it has been stated that the demand for electricity in the area will not increase rather might decrease slightly. In order to further analyze the argument, the two questions below have to answered.

Firstly, are the appliances manufactured today twice as efficient as the ones that were present before? The author's argument claims that the appliances manufactured are twice as efficent than the ones which were manufactured before. Such claim has to be supported by proper evidence which includes sheer statistics and data showcasing a decrement in the energy conservation of the appliances over the past decade. Since the above survey fails to provide any such stats, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

Secondly, with the new technologies such as home insulation and solar heating on the rise, will the demand for electricity in the entire area decline? Cutting edge technologies like passive solar heating and home insulation will obviously result in a decrease in the amount of electricity thereby improving energy conservation. But the most important thing which has to be stressed on is that will there be a decline in the electrivity on a whole in the complete area? As electricity is not subjected only to house hold activites and is rather used for a plethora of actitivites like operating companies, running industries, automobiles and so on, the above argument stating that there might be a decline in total amount of electricity is completely vague and since it is not supported by any extra evidence for the usage of electricity on a whole, the above argument does not hold firm.

There has been no proper evidence to the claim that the electricity generated from the electric generating plants has met our needs. So rather than coming to conlusions assuming that there might not be any requirement for the construction of new electical plants, proper work and survey has to be done punctiliously in order to know the electricity needs of various departments in the area, not exclusively considering the housing department only. Due to such vague observations with an inclination only towards the housing department in the area, the argument above does not hold water.

In conclusion, since there has been a dearth of proper evidence supporting the above lines, the argument does not hold firm and is considered vague and flawed.