8. Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

The above lines state that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study with an intention of acquiring knowledge from various fields of discipline to become truly educated is a very subjective topic to be discussed. Quite for a long time, the education at universities has provided the students with a plethora of knowledge preparing them for the outside world with an intention of enabling them to flourish their careers. More often the students choose a specified field of study and try to excel in it accordingly in order to meet the industry needs. A university offers various fields of study in the technology and science laterals.

Students have to be wary prior to choosing a field of study as it will hugely impact their career in the upcoming years of their educational and professional life. The field of study which they pursue might possibly decide the career path they're trying to choose so it is one of the most important decision that a student has to make punctiliously on what major to be choosen. Having said that, apart from the primary field of study the students should be highly encouraged to take up a variety of courses with an intention of acquiring knowledge with various fields of discipline at the university.

For instance, a student pursuing his field of study in electronics is highly encouraged to take up courses in the field of environmental sciences. Though there might be no coherence between the two fields that he is about to choose, it will surely benefit the student on a personal front. The environmental concerns have been on a rise over the past few years lately. Increased Global Warming has lead to Climate Change thereby completely changing the entire complexion of the planet's well-being. So taking up a course in such a field would highly impact the ongoing problem the world has been facing in the recent times.

Apart from this, the field of Philosophy have proved to be another major which has been on the rise lately. Students should take up this field of study along with their major as it offers a plethora knowledge which is not just subjected to the academics. Mental Illness and depression among the people has been on a rise lately so taking up such a field of study would not only be beneficial for one's own mental health but can also contribute to the society on a large scale with an intention of molding people's personal concerns.

In conclusion, having considering the aforementioned details it is highly beneficial to encourage students to take up a field of study outside their major with an intention of acquiring knowledge in order to become truly educated.