"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

The above lines state that the department of agriculture in Batavia has reported that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago which is a huge gain for both the consumers and the producers of the daiury products accross the county. During this same period, the price of the milk has gradually increased from 1 dollar to over 3 dollars per gallon. The committee had thought that in order to prevent farmers on an increased supply of milk, they should begin to regulate the retailmilk prices which might ensure a fair prices for the consumers across the region.

The author's argument at first looks cogent however on futher notice the lack of evidence manifests. The first error that the author thinks is that he assumes that the report sent by the department of the agricuture is accurate without flaws which is highly questionable. As the assumtion made by the author is not supported by clear evidence it might not turn out to be the way the author suffices. And secondly, as stated in the passage even though the number of diary farms have been increased over 25 percentage than it was ten years ago, the shift in the price of the milk would almost be negligible due to a rampant rise in the production of milk accross the county.

The third point which has to be noted is that the above information which has been provided is just cofined to the local region at Excello and it is completely erraneous to be assumed for the entire country of Batavia. Before raising the claim a proper evidence have to be advocating the fact that the same condition is persisting accross the country i order to incorporate any above measures given in author's argument. In order to warrant the argument, the author has to provide various important evidence like surveys and statisctics. The argument without such information falls apart. In conlusion, the givernement's regulation for fair prices is flawed.