The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago During this same time period however the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased

In the given information, the author states that the Batavian dairy farms have grown in the last 10 years, but contrary to expectations, the prices of milk have not come down, instead they have considerably increased. The Batavian government is now trying to figure out a way to manage the increasing milk prices and the author proposes that they should do this by regulating the prices of milk. Although this seems like a fair solution, the argument is rife with flaws and holes.

The author mentions that the number of dairy farms in Batavia has grown by 25 percent in the last 10 years, but there is no mention of how much milk production has actually increased in these years. It is the ideal situation that milk production will grow in direct proportion to the number of dairy farms, but in this case, it may not be true. There might be a management problem in these dairy farms resulting in less milk being produced and sent to the stores. There could be a rampant disease in the farms which may be bringing the overall milk production down. Unless these various avenues are explored, there is no way of knowing that milk production has actually increased by 25% or by any amount in the last ten years.

The author has mentioned that the price of milk at Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. But this does not tell us that milk prices all across Batavia have increased in a similar fashion. It is possible that the Excello Food Market is overcharging for milk and pocketing excessive profits on its sale. This information is inconsistent and does not paint the full picture of the prices of milk in the country. Other stores and their selling prices of milk should be examined before determining if this is a nationwide problem or the problem of just a single food retailer overcharging on necessary food items.

The author has indicated that the government should regulate milk prices throughout the country and has supported this statement by saying the farmers have been overcharging for the milk and pocketing excessive money. This would be true if the author had indicated the correct metric for measuring this i.e: the cost price and selling prices of the farmer. It is possible that the cost price of the farmer is $0.50 and the selling price is $1.00 in which case, they have priced and sold their milk at the correct price and the party pocketing excessive profits is the food retailer. In another case, if the farmer's cost price is $1.75 and the farmer is selling the milk for $2.25, then the problem lies in the production cost, and the farmers should receive aid and training to bring down the price of production.

There can also be a number of other factors affecting the milk price which would be looked into such as exports, spoilage, cold chain facilities, storage. If the milk is being excessively exported out of the country, there might be a shortage of milk in the country leading to inflation of the price. There could also be an improper production process or cold chain in place which may lead to good milk getting spoiled on its way to the consumer.

In conclusion, the milk production and distribution process is a complex process and there are various factors the government should take into account before moving to regulate the prices of milk. There is a possibility that the farmers may be pocketing excessive profits, but the author has not provided the right data to prove this argument.