"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is fair to impose such laws by the Batavian government on the farmers to regulate retail milk prices, but the authors argument does not make a cogent case to arrive at such conclusion, as this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to increased funding.

Firstly, the author claims the number of dairy farms throughout the country are 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. The authors conclusion mainly arises from this statement as it's base. The report obtained might be tainted due to improper collection of data. One digit makes a major difference in the conclusion and the authors claim is rejected. The data collected 10 years ago might not be as accurate as it seems due to lack of technology, man power, etc. Other factors like politics among the people governing the reports may lead to false reports. Accounting all such loop holes, the authors claim can be completely rejected.

Furthermore, the author states that the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. Taking this statement into consideration is completely absurd. The price of the milk is set by a private individual and not the government and taking such an example into arriving at a conclusion is unbelievable. The food market which might be owned by a person who does not belong to the governing body of that country has every right to implicate and alter the rate of the items of his shop. So the author cannot consider such examples and his stance in regulating the price of the milk doesn't stay as strong as it was before.

Finally, the author claims that the farmers are profiting from these hike in prices and the government should regulate the prices of the milk. If the data obtained from the reports is false and taking the private market prices into consideration, the notion to regulate the prices of the milk no longer stands. The author did not consider the increase in costs over the span of 10 years for the farmers. Though the dairy farms size kept increasing the amount of milk produced by each cow annually might have decreased. This maintains a steady production rate of milk with increase in the size of the cattle. The price of the food that the farmers need to provide for these animals might have increased in this span of time. This maintains a steady profit rate though the revenue generated is high than it was 10 years ago.

The prices of all the goods have significantly increased from the past 10 years due to increase in the taxes and others factors. To regulate the prices of the milk might decrease the profits of the farmers and might destroy their livelihood. Hence the author's argument is not likely enough to persuade the government into regulating the retail milk prices.