The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author mentions the following facts without brief explanation and the proposed facts do not have enough data to back them and hence this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to stand on the authors proposed explanations.

Firstly, the author doesn't mention the people behind the research, who are responsible for conducting the study. It is highly possible that the study was conducted by a group of amateurs, who are not well versed, particularly at this subject of focus. The results would have been different, if the research was conducted by a group of professionals. This completely eradicates the author's explanation on the eighteen rhesus monkey.

Secondly, the author claims that the study study showed that, in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. This is the first fact that the author states, on which his entire explanation depends It is possible that, any amount of cortisol hormone increase the levels of activity in a monkey. Hence, the effect of twice the amount of the hormone is similar to that of any amounts of it and thus the theory which states that an encounter with unfamiliar monkey increases the activity levels of the firstborn and it's younger siblings is completely absurd.

Furthermore, the author mentions that, the firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). Here the author compares two different species at two completely different circumstances. Firstly the author compares an encounter between the Rhesus monkey to an unfamiliar monkey. Later he compares and infant to their parents and makes a statement relating to both the circumstances. It is possible that infants produce high levels of cortisol hormone after an encounter with their parent after a long time. This might be possible as both the individuals share the same blood and hence there might be some scientific reason behind the increase in hormonal levels. But relating this circumstance to the one with monkey seems no where close.

Finally, it is mentioned that, that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. It is possible that higher levels of hormone was present in other monkey's, than the one on which the study was being conducted. The monkey considered for the study might have had some medical issues and due to this lower levels of cortisol was found in monkey's with several offspring.

The author states the facts without keen background research and in depth study on the subject of focus. The above alternative explanations prove that the author's claims were a result of incompetence and his explanations can be proved wrong.