Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim and the reason clearly lean toward's the fact that, a nations cultural traditions are preserved and generated primarily in the cities for the future generation. It is true that majority of a nations population live in the cities nowadays, rather than in the countryside, but it is completely absurd that a nation's traditions are completely dependent on the cities and the claim that in order for the tradition to exist, the government has to provide financial support is just unbelievable.

Majority of the people in a country live in cities due to abundance in opportunities for stable career and a steady life without any interventions. Cities also expose a human to a variety of opportunities which they might not see in a countryside or a rural area. Many other financial reasons attract people to make a living in a city, but the fact that their traditions exist in the cities is not one of them. It is true that the people living in an urban area can make their traditions more flamboyant and extravagant without actually having the complete knowledge regarding the occasion, but the people in urban areas rather have strong belief's and ideologies towards their customs and traditions. Diwali or The Festival of Lights, is a festival celebrated in India. In cities there is a common misconception that Diwali entails to the burning of crackers, but it actually signifies the triumph of good over evil, and in accordance to that, candles are lit so that there is no darkness, relating to the defeat of the evil. Hence many such misconceptions by the people residing in the urban areas in the recent times, have led to the disappearance of actual customs and rituals that are to be followed. Hence the reason for the claim that the cities preserve a nations tradition doesn't exactly qualify.

Furthermore, it is true that the cities need more financial support than the rural areas as more people live in the cities and most of the country's economy depends largely on the urban sector. This led to the dissolution of the rural economy as the urban sector became a major focus in the eyes of the government. Urban areas not only play a huge role in a country's economy, but it is in this sector that most of the corruption takes place. Providing the cities with huge amounts of capital without proper governance is a real risk and can lead to the failure of the ruling body. It is the rural people too who pay their taxes and play their part in a country's development. A country's agriculture sector mainly depends on the people pertaining to the rural areas. Hence diverting the money completely toward the cities is just unjust and we need to focus on our rural sector and develop them.

The authors reason that a nation's traditions and culture depends on the major cities in the country is an arrant nonsense and his claim that the financial support must be provided to the cities in order for the nations traditions to thrive no longer stands.