"Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement which is based on an old notion, provides career security and a comfortable life without involving huge risks. Young minds today are exposed to diverse career opportunities right from their childhood which leaves them in an ambiguous state when it's time to choose. Institutions and parents should encourage them into choosing the most suitable option for that person, and not the more capital fetching path or a long term option. They need to see and drive the young minds into their area of interest and the career they are well versed or talented in. It's the job of the institutions to shape the young minds and refine their already existing talents. Instead, today children are forced to follow long-term, realistic goals rather than opting their area of interest or talent.

It is absolutely true that choosing a long-term, realistic goal is the safest option in the book than pursuing a mercurial career. There's a phrase which goes by " Greater the risk, Greater the reward ". It is known that such risks has led to the invention of new technology which shaped the world that we now live in. Many scientists like Einstein choose a career which no one would recommend, but his tenacious and reluctant hard work changed world of science forever. Many such inventions have been made by people who did not receive basic level of education, but we should also see that the intellect of these people varied vastly than what we humans share. Not everyone has high levels of IQ and it is advisable to opt the path that provides a stable pay and low levels of risk.

Young minds are exposed to a variety of opportunities nowadays. This enables them to explore and pursue a career well suited for them. Exposing them to such diverse career options is really important and it's the job of the parents and institutions to give them such opportunities. Realistic or not, its the elders job to place various options in front of the young ones to give them the discretion to do what they want. Forcing them into pursuing a career which they are not interested in, many affect them both physically and mentally as well. The mind starts to loose interest on things and in a few years the mind becomes dull and sullen and soon stops learning new things. This not only effects the person, but also the career he choose as the efficiency of work decreased due to lack of interest.

Hence choosing a long-term, realistic career or an immediate fame and recognition path completely depends on a individual interest. Helping them in achieving their goal not only improves their quality of life, but also their surroundings which in turn helps the world in a better way.