The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that the best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household. The author reaches this conclusion without looking any further into the possible solutions with which the problems might be solved. Of course the waste generated by a person may be controlled by the authors conclusion but it's not the only way to cut the waste generated and I would like to disagree with the author.

Firstly, it is not practically possible for a person or a consumer to control the amount of trash that is produced in their respective households. What if the trash being produced in a day exceeds the limit? They can't just hold on to the trash as it will cause a noisome filled air and might lead to several diseases. This is not at all healthy and might further lead to serious health issues.

Furthermore, instead of imposing a limit to control the environmental waste being generated one can reproduce the waste. The people of any area, i.e, a town or a city or even a rural area must be asked to separate the trash based on its material like plastic, paper, organic waste, etc. This helps the government to reproduce the waste which is generated and it may greatly help in reducing the waste being produced. Hence we can say that " The waste reproduced is the waste reduced."

Finally, the government should impose strict laws on the usage of plastic. Organic waste include the waste being generated from food, humans. These can be used as nutrients to enrich the mineral content in the soil. Other waste such as paper can easily dissolve in the soil, but plastic takes thousands of years to dissolve in the soil. Instead of imposing limit onto waste being generated from a household the govenment should impose strict laws into the amount of plastic being produced and the amount being generated. This is a major environmental threat and the government should impose such manoeuvre's as fast as possible.

The claim made by the author isn't that bad to support. It obviously reduces the amount of trash being generated by the consumer's and hence leads to the reduction in environmental waste. But it is not the best way to solve the current issue since the above mentioned reasons bypass the authors claim. Since the positive's don't outweight the negative's I would like to disagree with the authors statement that "The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household."