Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern which were initially found in the village of Palea were not uniquely Palean as traces of the basket were found in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The author makes the following conclusion based on a few assumptions such as a Palean basket which was found elsewhere other than Palea and there was no boat to be found which might have been used to cross the Brim River. The following assumptions lie on a thin line of thread and could be proven wrong. I would like to disagree with the author and would like to stand on the statement that the woven baskets found in Palea were only made in the village of Palea.

Firstly, the author states that traces of the similar "Palean" basket were found by the archaeologists in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The archaeologists might have made a mistake in assessing both the baskets before declaring that they basket is actually a "Palean" basket. The wear and tear on the actual basket might have erased its distinctive patterns due to long periods of exposure to natural causes and change in extensive changes in climate. This completely disposes the fact that the baskets were found in Lithos.

Furthermore the author makes the conclusion on the assumption that the Brim River is very deep and broad. The geographic patterns may change over time, i.e, vibrations in the tectonic plates beneath the surface of the earth may lead to a change in the outermost layer. Here since the river lies on the outermost layer of the earths crust, the Brim River which was once a pond with very less depth or literally nothing might have turned into a river overtime.

Finally the author makes a serious claim that there was no boat to be found and hence reaches his conclusion. A boat in the prehistoric times might have been possibly made by wood or any other material which easily decomposes into the soil unlike metals, plastic, fiber and other materials found today which have very less decomposition rate. So it is conspicuous that the boat which was made by the Palean citizens was decomposed and they actually reached Lithos but must not have carried any of their unique baskets as they wanted it to keep for themselves.

The authors explanation isn't actually a terrible one. The assumptions and conclusions made by the author are acceptable and might prevail but since the positives do not outweigh the negatives I would like to disagree with the author and would like to close that the baskets were uniquely found in Palea.