As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has taken over our lives in the past few years. From calculating numbers to cultivating crops, advancement in technology is so quick that, before we get to understand a product, a new and a better one is released into the market. It is safe to say that technology indefinitely made our lives comfortable, but it also induced a sense of incompetence and lethargy into our lives. All these inventions were made by us, humans, which a result of sheer intellect and brainstorming and new products are out everyday, yielding better results that is predecessor. This proves that technological advancements do not deteriorate human ability to think, but in fact yield better results.

Automobiles were invented nearly 200 years ago. Nowadays nearly every household in most of the countries own a car and it has become an essential part of one's life to travel comfortably without depending on others. The first car barely crossed a street, with a speed less that 5 mph. In 2019, the fastest road legal car, travels at a speed of 279 mph. If the invention of a car led to the deterioration of the brain, we would have never got this far. Due to the rise of competition in the market and increase in external sources this feat could be achieved. Surely one's health is affected due to lack of movement and increased levels of inertia, but one has to be responsible in controlling their health.

Take cell phone an example. Calls were first made nearly 100 years ago by Alexander Graham Bell and he used a table phone which drastically varies from the one's we use today, known as a smartphone. Technology has evolved so rapidly over the past century in such a way that we went from making calls to making a video call over the mobile and see a person anywhere around the globe. A video call is a mere perk using a mobile today which is one of the many quirks and features in a smartphone. If not for the reluctance to improve that quality and comfort in making a call, we would not have the luxury to use such technology today.

Medical advancements over the years has been one of the biggest achievements for humans. From penicillin to curing cancer, technological advancements have surely improved our lives. The different machinery used nowadays is so far advanced compared to the past decade, cancer which was compared to nothing but death, is now curable. Recent achievement in organ transplantation has proved to be a vital step in medical field.

It is acceptable that technology has made us lazy and incompetent, but it is completely our choice to decide how we carry out our life and to make the best out of it. It is evident from the above examples that technology advancement hasn't stopped us from going further but in fact made sure we improve the existing products. Human life span has deteriorated over the past few years and lack of physical exercise is one of the factor. Blaming technology for deteriorating physical movement is completely absurd and unfair as we should make sure we stay fit and compensate some amount of the time in our day to physical activities. Technology has indefinitely effected human's brain to think but the positives do not out-weigh the negatives and hence the statement that technological advancement led to the deterioration of human's brain to think is absurd.