The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claim that due to the increase in the popularity of skateboarding in the past two years has led to the decrease of the business in the Central Plaza is an arrant absurd. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the recommendation of the city to prohibit skateboarding in central plaza.

Firstly the author claims that the number of shoppers Central Plaza has decreased over the past few years and the store owners believe that skateboarding must have been the reason behind it. The reports based on which this claim was made might have been altered to reduce the recent increase in skateboarding in the plaza. Most of the shops in the plaza sell products which are a competition to the skateboards. As increase in the recent popularity of the skateboarding led to the decrease in the store owners business, they must have plotted this depraved act and must have altered the reports. Hence the authors claim on store owners belief that skateboarding has led to the decrease in shoppers can be eradicated as they made that statement for their own profit.

Furthermore, the author claims that there has been an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza. It must have many years since the plaza was built, and the place must have deteriorated and rotted in recent times due to lack of maintenance and cleanliness and it is the duty of the maintenance staff to keep the premises clean at all times. It is true that skateboarding sometimes leads to a damage in property but it is not fair to blame skateboarding completely for the vandalism of the plaza. Many other factors must have played a major role in leading to the vandalism of the place, but placing the entire burden on skateboarding is unfair and unjust. Hence the authors blame on skateboarding being solely responsible for destroying the plaza can be eradicated.

Finally, the author claims that the Central Plaza will prosper again if the city prohibits skateboarding and it's business returns to it's previously high levels. The plaza must be an old structure and this must have led the deterioration of the place recently and due to lack of maintenance. During it's initial days of commencement, the plaza must have been an attraction in the city and this led to the booming of the business for the shop owners. As days passed by other plazas must have opened in the city which led to the decrease in sales as the Central Plaza lost it's authenticity. Instead of blaming skateboarding, the plaza owners must focus on refurbishing the existing building and adding new attractions which might lead to a possible increase in their business.

The authors recommendation on eradicating skateboarding from the Central Plaza based on false reports and envious shop owners doesn't make a stand for his claim. Hence the authors claim was made hastily, without completely studying the facts and his recommendation can be rejected.