The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might be true that the author's assumption of increasing the company profits by producing the alpaca overcoat due to lack of competition. But this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support the authors claim.

Firstly, the author claims that the company had difficulties in acquiring reliable supplies of high quality of wood fabric and portrayed that this was the reason behind the discontinuation of their alpaca coat production. There might be many reasons and facts which might affect the author's claim. Firstly the price of the wood fabric which is used as the raw material for alpaca coat must have been to expensive for the company five year's ago. Secondly, the company's competitor might have stared producing a better quality of the alpaca coat, which in-turn decreased the company's sales and affected it's profits. . To portray a positive image, the company must have provided false claims of unreliable quality and soon stopped it's production. These assumptions must be enough not to back the author's claim of discontinuation of the product five years ago.

Secondly, the author claims that a new fabric supplier has inspired the company to start producing their alpaca coat again. The main reason for the discontinuation of the coat five year's ago was due to the unreliable quality of the wood fabric. It is not evident that the new fabric supplier provides a better quality of raw material than the previous or the available one's. The supplier must have provided a fake sample in order to convince the company to buy his product, so that he can profit from them and the company goes into a loss due to a bad quality product. This mere reason is enough for the company to prevent the production of the alpaca coats and this undermines the author's claim to restart the coat's production in the first place.

Furthermore, the the author claims that its major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. There might be many reasons it's competitor stopped producing the coat. Firstly, there might be a decrease in the demand for the alpaca coat in the past few years and the competitor must have incurred huge amounts of losses. Secondly,an alternative product must have become popular in the past few years and this led to the competitors decision in stop producing the alpaca coat. Since the company has been out of the alpaca coat industry for the past five years, better market study is required before taking a major decision that the authors seeks to select.

Finally, the author claim that the prices of other pieces of clothing has hiked up in the past few years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago and it increases the company's profits. The prices of other types of clothing must have increased due to increase in demand. A pair of jeans is popular worldwide but a t-shirt or a skirt is not an advisable clothing choice in countries with lower temperatures. Hence increasing the price of jeans by a small amount of fraction will not decrease it's profits, but increasing the price of the alpaca coat might not fetch the profits the author seeks as the alpaca coat is suitable only in few parts of the world. Hence considering all such factors a suitable decision must be taken.

The claims by the author are not sufficient enough to back up his statement of producing the alpaca coat again and his argument has many many loop holes in it. The above proofs clearly show that the author's argument is based on a weak base and his claim cannot withstand anymore.