Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement emphasizes primarily on the a notion that self-interest and personal discipline is the only way to learn and gain knowledge. Since centuries and right from the first humans to walk on this planet, we humans have developed and evolved continuously. Primitive humans obviously didn't have schools or colleges moreover from where they could learn to hunt and survive. They developed those skills slowly on their own and by observing others. This led to new inventions and the knowledge has been passed through out the world through books and other sources of learning. So this makes a stance that learning is primarily not a matter of personal discipline, which can be developed through training, observation and motivation which is the primary motto of any school, college or other institutions.

A human being right from their birth are exposed to a variety of things. After a few years we start to develop interest on few of these things and soon we realize that you might be good at one of those. Here comes the role of any institution, i.e, in nurturing and developing these skills, so that, that person becomes well versed in that area of interest and might set a career for the rest of their lives. The Ex-Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was a goalkeeper back in his childhood. His coach saw his skill set and introduced him to cricket and developed his keeping skills. Now he is widely regarded as one of the best cricketers to have ever played that sport.It is evident that schools and colleges are responsible for a successful career.

Secondly, every human is different from one another. Different people have different perspectives, beliefs, interests and goals. Not everyone share the same IQ. People with low intellect face a really hard time to get through college or school, not due to the lack of personal interest, but because they lack those skills to get through. Schools and other learning institutions recognize these people and give them a special care and thus get them to a point in their career which wouldn't have been possible without their help. Hence Schools and colleges not only nurture the existing skills but also help to overcome your difficulties and improve self-confidence.

It is true that all great minds graduated from Harvard or Cambridge. Einstein for instance, never got through school and always told that school never helped him and he is one of the greatest minds to ever walk on this plant, but such was his IQ. He had an intellect level most people couldn't come close to and because of his undying interest and his unparalleled discipline towards science, the world has technologically evolved to its present state. But there are very few of such examples that prove that personal discipline and interests over weigh the positive outcomes that school and colleges offer.