In the last year s mayoral election in Town T candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election At the last minute candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that foc

In the given argument, the author talks about the mayoral elections in Town T ,how candidate Keating beat candidate Miller by addressing the environment preservation issue which was ignored by candidate Miller. The author also states that if candidate Miller hopes to win the election this year, he should be addressing the environmental issues of Town T. This argument has many flaws since it talks about replicating last year’s strategy to get guaranteed results this year. There are a number of variables the author has not considered while making this argument.

Firstly, the author has said that candidate Miller should replicate candidate Keating’s strategy of addressing environmental isses this year to win the campaign. By the information provided here, we knoe for sure that environmental issues were definitely a concern for the residents of Town T last year. But we have no indication that it’s a concerning issue this year. And if it’s not, the idea of addressing environmental issues this year may backfire on candidate Miller. Candidate Miller must consider the pressing issues the residents of Town T have this year and address solving those.

The second flaw with the argument is that there is no mention of who candidate Miller is up against this year. He has learnt from the last election when Keating beat him, but Keating may not be contesting against candidate Miller at all this year. For example, if candidate Miller is up against some other candidate X this year, and is unaware of the issues candidate X is tackling current issues of the residents, he would stand to lose the elections this year as well. It is very much possible that after his campaign last year, Keating has worked on a number of solutions for the environmental concerns.

Lastly, the author has mentioned that last year Keating launched a campaign about environmental concerns and hence won the mayoral elections. But, there are no other mentions of any other campaigns or efforts Keating took which may have contributed to the outcome of the election. Were there multiple issues Keating took to solving which were pressing issues for his constituents? Or was there maybe a negative word of mouth campaign against Miller which presented Keating as the more favourable candidate among the residents of Town T? More clarification about the various variables and public sentiment are required to understand why exactly Keating won the first election.

In conclusion, this argument has a lot of missing information about the Town T, it’s issues and the various factors contributing to the outcome of their mayoral elections. The mention that simply replicating your opponent’s strategy which worked last year is deeply flawed as it indicates the conditions and concerns of Town T’s population is exactly the same which is untrue for any population.