"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The above lines state that the birtrate in the city of calatrava has been decreasing over a period of 5 years. having said that the committee is looking forward to plan a ten year budget for the city of calatrava. The commitee plans of reducing the funds budgeted for education during the decade as they assume that due to a decreased birthrate, the number of students who are abou to enroll in the city's public schools might decrease. The commitee has also been planning to resuce the funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities at the same time due to the above concern. So as result, they plan of ending up with a sufficient amount of money which might fund city facilities and programs used by adults, since they are expecting a rise in the adult population over the due course.

Before we can further analyze the above argument, three questions have to answered to justify the above assumptions made by the author. Firstly, has there been any legit surveys and statistics that support that there has been a plunge in the birthrate over the past few years. The author's argument has provided us with vague details and hypothesis stating that there has been a plummet in birthrate but failed to support such allegations with proper numbers, which might mostly include surveys and statistics over the past given course of time.

Secondly, due to a decreased birthrate the author assumes that there might be a decrease in the number of students getting enrolled in the public schools in the city. there has been no specific proof which supports the claim made by the author stating that the enrollment of students into the public schools might decrease over a due course of time and it would be completely vague to to conmsider this above assumption legit thereby cutting the funds for the public schools acrros the city. since there has been no clear details above the number of students enrolling over a period of time, the reduced birthrate might not hold an important factor for the commitee to cut funds hence the above argument made by the author does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author expects a rise in the adult population over the next few years and tries to create a cause and effect relationship between the bithrate and the adult population. there has clearly not been any numbers and statistics that might support the above claim stating that adult population might increase over a period which the author hypothesizes in order to fund a sufficient amount of money to the city's facilities and programs used by the adults.

In conclusion, since the author's above argument blatantly disregards the facts that might be considered legit and fails to support the above claims made by him without supporting evidence such as surveys and statistics the above argument can be considered vague and flawed.