The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

The above lines stating that the best way of understanding the character of the society is by examining the character of men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or role models is a very subjective topic to be discussed. The society as a whole plays a vital role in maiaintaing the social economic and cultural relations among the people. Most of the times, a role model be it male or female is given the spotlight in the society by its people according to which various vissitudes might occur depending on the character of the role model. Nevertheless the people in the society are the ones on which the character and well being of the society depends on rather than a particular indidual.

It must be a combined effort of all the people in the society to ensure a safe and secure environment for all which might not possibly have nothing to do with the character of that particular person that the entire society treats as a role model or a hero. But having said that when the people of the scoiety chooses someone as their role model or hero, it is not to be taken lightly as there must be something unique about that particular person for which the people might have fell for and started treating him as a role model. The character and the nature of a role model deeply effects a lot of people thereby changing the character of the society accrodingly. Let us consider the example of the former president of the United States John. F. Kennedy, popularly known as JFK. JFK was one of the best examples that firmly goes witht the above lines. When JFK took office, the entire country was in shambles due to a great economic depression thereby leading to a big time unemployment and leading to the rise of shenanigans accross the country.

It was when he became the president that the entire complexion of the country has drastically changed. People have instantly accepted him as their hero during the primaries which led him to have a landslide victory against his republican counterpart then. The policies put forth by him and his regime have entirely boomed a flagging economy and rose the motivation of the people to work for the greater good. JFK has been a compete role model to not only a particular sector of people but for all sections including the working class people which made them to contribute to the society to their god given potential. In this way the complete character and the vibe of a plunging society has been improved when JFK took office in the late 60's and it is clearly evident that it is that man's desire and character that was emulated by all its people in the society.

Is it the best way to understand the society by examining the character of its role model? Yes. A strong leader with a great character motivates his people to work and flourish for the greater good thereby not only improving the lives of the people around him but improving the character as a whole of the enitre society and the country.