3. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

In a memo from the Vice President of quoit manufacturing, it stated that quiot manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby panoply industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than here. Experts say that some significant contributing factors are fatigue and sleep deprivation among the workers at the quoit manufacturing. so in order to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at quoit and thereby increase the productivity, they are thinking of shortening each of their three work shifts by one hour so that employees would get adequate amount of sleep.

Before analyzing the above argument stated by the author, two questions have to answered. Firstly, is the claim that there has been a 30 percent increase in the on-job accidents at quiot manufacturing than at the nearby panoply industries plant valid? The argument stated by the auithor had been very vague where there has been no specific evidence like surveys and statistics that might support the author's argument about both quoit manufacturing and panoply industries. so as a result we cannot come to terms with the author's hypothesis from the above lines which showcase a 30 percent rise in the on-job accidents than that of panoply industries.

Secondly, is the work hours the only reason why there has been an increase in the on-job accidents at quoit? The above argument provides some vague details about the actual reason behind the on-job accidents at quoit which might be bigger than the working hours of the employees. this might include various other factors like rough working conditions and outdated machine technology at the industry resulting in frequent on-job accidents at quoit manufacturing. so due to this indicating a mere speculation without any evidence, the above argument does not hold water.

As the above argument has not been supported by any survey and statistics, the best solution to this would be rather not by decreasing the amount of work hours of the employees at quoit , it would rather be benificial if the certain surveys and feedback from the employees are conducted in order to understand the problem much better. Additionally, they might also work on improving the working conditions of the employees at the manufacturing plant as there is a high risk of on-job and industrial accidentds at such places.

In conclusion, as there has been no proper evidence supporting the above argument made by the author, it can be considered vague and flawed.