The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase.

In the above recommendation letter of a ten-year budget plan for the city of Calatrava, the author suggests significant decrease in budget allotted for education and proposes increase in funds dedicated to activities for adults. To strengthen his arguments, the author states the decline in birthrate in the city in last 5 years, which will require reduction in budget allotted to education. This argument contains many logical flaws and thus, becomes irrelevant as it stands.

Firstly, the author has not specified the exact birthrate 5 years ago in the city. So, birthrate in the city at present is not known for certain. It is possible that birthrate 5 years ago was very less that its decline currently is not that significant. In this case, the committee will have to sanction same budget for education in upcoming then years. It is also a possibility that this year birthrate might have increased as compared to last year.

Secondly, the author assumes that the number of students enrolled in school in coming 5 years will decrease as a result of decline in birthrate. This assertion is again based on mere predictions. The planning committee has not thought about number of other possibilities which might not lead to decrease in enrollments. It is a plausible situation that more kids get enrolled to school in the city as many families migrate to the city for better job opportunities. Enrollments might also increase or stay the same because of not a significant decline in birthrate in the city as mentioned earlier.

Thirdly, the committee suggests reduction in funds of athletic and recreational activities due to decline in enrollments. But they have ignored the possibility that more students than before might be interested in sports and extra co-curricular activities. In this condition, the city will only cause more dissatisfaction among the denizens regarding the facilities for kids. Finally, the author proposes to use the extra funds on developments and activities for adults. This proposition is mostly based on predilection for better services for the elderly. Instead of diverting the unused funds, the city council can peruse them for ameliorating existing educational and athletic services in case there is an actual decrease in enrollments in schools.

In conclusion, to render his arguments more concrete and apply the desired changes in budget allocation, the author must put forward credible judgments. To instigate required changes the committee must give detailed data on the decline in birthrate, requirement of better services for adults and actual decrease in need of funds for athletic and recreational facilities. Hence, by giving relevant data and information on the matter only can the committee convince decrease in funds for education.