A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

In the above application for a loan, the developers assert various reasons about why a jazz music club would be a profitable business in the city of Monroe. In their explanation they point out the popularity of jazz music in the city and state the findings of a study of annual expenditure of the people of the country on jazz. From the above paragraph we can infer that all the reasons contended are based on predictions or study which could be irrelevant in this case.

Firstly, the author predicts that the jazz club business will be tremendously successful in Monroe. He based this on the absence of a jazz club in proximity of city. According to the author other jazz club is 65 miles away from the city which can give the new club access to the local market. But it cannot be merely assumed that the locals of the city will be interested in the club. There is a possibility that the people living near the proposed place of the club would not be interested in the jazz club which explains the absence of one until now.

Furthermore, the author contends that jazz music is very popular in the city of Monroe. He states that over 1, 00,000 people attended jazz music festival. But here he has not mentioned the total population of the city; which could be much higher and it would infer that jazz music is not very popular in the city. It is also possible that the people who attended the festival did not do so because of interest in jazz music, but because they needed a welcome distraction from their everyday monotonous life. Moreover, the author states that many famous jazz artists live in Monroe. Presence of famous jazz artists in the city is not strong enough reason for increase in popularity of jazz music on the city. The artists might be living in the city not because of popularity of jazz but as the living conditions in the city might be favourable for them.

The high-rating of a radio program on jazz in the city can also be considered as the absence of other entertaining shows on radio; which automatically makes the music show popular. Finally, at the end of the application the developers mention a study of annual expenditure of jazz fans of the country on jazz music which is notably high. Though, it is not specifically mentioned that people of Monroe spend this much amount on jazz. It is certainly possible that the expenditure of people of other cities is much higher which explains the rise in average expenditure; which also infers that People of Monroe are not that much interested in jazz as the author predicts.

Hence, the developers must affirm more concrete reasons and studies for the application. Also they should approach people of Monroe about their interests in jazz music. Only by knowing all the facts can they check the feasibility of the project and set up a successful business.