The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Luxuries and modern amenities have become basic necessities in today’s modern life-style. People belonging to every economic class work incessantly to afford greatest luxuries possible. Ostentatious nature of human beings is mainly responsible for this. Everyone wants to show the world what they are capable of. Also modern amenities and conveniences ease day-to-day life and save us from arduous tasks. On the other hand, these luxuries have stolen the capability of humans to perform their own task. Hence, I completely agree with the assertion that new inventions and luxurious items have prevented humans from developing into strong and independent beings.

In the present time, all types of luxuries and amenities that we can think of are disposable to humans. From a ceiling fan to multi-million villas with complete amenities, everything is a luxury. It depends on person’s economic conditions that how many facilities he can afford. These facilities have eased up our work to a great extent and provided us with highest levels of comfort and satisfaction. For example, a personal gym, swimming pool and discotheque are the luxuries that magnates can afford to have in their villas. These facilities help them in saving time and pain of going to different places like gym and pool. Luxuries, from most basic to most extravagant are meant for our convenience and facility.

But, along with providing highest levels of comfort, these luxuries deprive us from our own development. Advancement in technology and machinery has ceased human brain development. Though humans are the makers of all these machines, today we have become slaves to them. We cannot pass a single day without use of any electronic or luxurious item. For instance, electronic gadgets have thwarted our mental development. With the increasing use or mobile phone and other such conveniences, we have ceased using our own intellect in most cases. People have stopped going out into the wilderness to experience thrill and adventure and rather prefer to stay in their luxurious apartment in front of TV on a comfortable couch and have vicarious pleasure. Lack of excitement and zest for life due to mundane, monotonous life and less activity has also led to various mental and physical health problems.

At last, only through having perfect equilibrium and moderate use of required conveniences can we lead a healthy and sanguine life. Hence, proper understanding of all realms of life is necessary to set this balance. Despite of all the luxuries and amenities available it is necessary to grow as a strong and independent individual.