Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

The above statement contends that all universities and schools should compulsorily send their students to foreign universities for studying for at least one semester so that they get better experience and enhance their skills in their field. Although, experience is highly essential in any field of inquiry, compulsion on studying in foreign schools is not required. Experience and better cognizance on critical subjects in their domain can be achieved in various other ways.

Studying in a foreign university is often very expensive. If the student cannot afford to spend huge amount of money on foreign study for only one semester, then coercing him/her to do so will only weaken their financial condition. Instead they can use the same money in small amounts for other necessities. For students from developing countries or third-world countries, studying for even 5-6 months in another developed country can cost a fortune. Or the university should endorse such students with poor financial status but having good efficiency. Also if the university or college does not have tie ups with a top school in foreign then the students going for the international experience program will not get much benefit out of it and it will only result in waste of time and resources. Due to lack of student exchange relations with a good university, it would be onerous for a student to get admitted in a top school for only one semester.

Also those students who opt for foreign studies for a semester might not be actually interested in studying their courses and would be there with the purpose of travelling only. In that case they would not take the course seriously which will result in utter waste of time, resources and money. Moreover, if universities decide to sponsor certain students who have genuine capabilities and not others equally talented, then this might cause dissatisfaction and contempt towards the institution. It is very important to keep all these drawbacks in mind before passing this assertion.

In spite of all these shortcomings of foreign study programs, there are many benefits of such programs. Studying in foreign universities can provide the student with diversity in environment and culture which they would never be able to get studying in same university. The students will get a chance to learn about different cultures and meet different people. Not only these programs can help in increasing their productivity but also help them become a better professional. Students with such international experience will have higher chances of placement in good companies. It can also provide them with experience for further higher studies in other countries.

For example, Gujarat Technological University holds an international experience program for all its students in top universities of countries like Germany, US, Canada and Bulgaria. Such programs give the students ample of opportunities and with better education in their field. Experience gained from such program will be useful in all aspects of their life and future career.

Hence, as much as diverse experience is necessary for better future prospects, it should not be forced upon the students to go for foreign studies. It should be a willing choice for those interested and those who can afford such program. In my opinion, universities should take into consideration all the benefits of the course and help the students in all possible ways that they can. They can also look for other methods to enhance skills of student's like industrial visits and workshops.