Claim: Imagination is more valuable asset than experience

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes

In the above statement the author claims that imagination is a more valuable attribute than experience. He asserts this statement on basis of the reason that those people who do not have experience in a particular field would have the liberty to imagine whatever they want without the constraints of established beliefs and accepted dogma. Though this statement has certain credibility, I am not completely in accord with the statement.

People who do not have experience in their particular field rely on imaginations or superficial beliefs. At times, the hypothesis they build up might not be feasible in practical world. For example, a neophyte in field of research and development of astronomy can make up copious amount of hypothetical theories regarding big bang, black holes or string theory. But on absolute study of these theories they might not hold any feasibility. These theories would be considered abysmal and based on mere impractical imaginations. In this case experience is a much more valuable asset, as a veteran scientist can better analyze the theories and hypothesis than an amateur.

On the other hand. imagination outside the boundaries of established beliefs and orthodox thoughts can lead to ground breaking inventions and discoveries. Pure imagination of inexperienced freshers in various fields have resulted in incredible inventions which are still useful to the world. If Einstein hadn't imagined about discovering electricity, then the world might be still covered in darkness. If Gandhiji and other freedom fighters hadn't imagined a free India, then Indians would have still been under British Rule. It was the imagination of Wright Brothers that gave airplane - a flying machine credibility. The world is today grateful to such great scientists and leaders for their imaginations and their faith in their path.

Although, not all imaginations lead to useful theories and outcome. According to the author, people should be free to imagine whatever they want, but what if these imaginary goals are deleterious for entire humanity. Not all people have benign thoughts and intentions for development. Some imaginations might inflict irreversible damage on the face of whole world. Also, certain imaginations might not be applicable in practical or we might not be equipped with advanced technology to meet these goals. This would just lead to waste of much precious time and energy of the scholarly. In certain cases this can also lead to permanent mental and psychological damage for the person.

In conclusion, imagination would be an important asset more than experience if used for constructive and fruitful research and development. But, experience in any field can invariably be helpful in further developments. Experience is thus as important as imagination for ameliorating living standards.